Among the most evocative, elegant and fascinating residences of Tuscany, “Le Antiche Corti di Lucca” are located in a town of great interest. Lucca is the only Tuscan town to have retained its independence until 1847. Its sixteenth-seventeenth century walls witness the care of the aristocracy who defended the freedom of the “Civitas”. They have a perimeter of 4250 km and have some parts still intact. Inside the medieval structure of the walls emerge the artistic and historical monuments dating back to centuries ago, such as the Roman Amphitheater, the Basilica of San Frediano, the square and the Church of San Michele, the Cathedral of San Martino with the Holy Face and the tomb of Ilaria del Carretto sculpted by Jacopo della Quercia. Plus, you will see Torre dei Guinigi, via Fillungo, Palazzo Ducale in Napoleone Square.
The monumental center of the town has maintained almost intact its original aspect and can boast a great architectural richness, such as the medieval churches. Lucca has been called the “Town with 100 churches”, due to the presence of numerous churches in its town centre, towers and bell towers and monumental Renaissance palaces of fine stylistic linearity.
The Town also shows evocative urban spaces: the most famous is certainly Piazza dell’Anfiteatro, built on the ruins of the ancient Roman amphitheater by the architect Lorenzo Nottolini and unique in its architectural srtucture. The main street of the historic town is the narrow and medieval Via Fillungo, which collects the major commercial establishments.